Frends headphone ear pads repair

Boring Engineer
3 min readOct 15, 2020

When I moved to London, I remembered to bring my Frends headphone with me. It is a fashionable headphone and my wife really likes it. However, I found the ear pads were deteriorating when I unpack it.

During the lockdown in London, there is nothing more enjoyable than marking a tick in the long overdue to-do list. I started to look for parts on the Internet. Yes, it is part: the villain of any repair. The process was not very smooth, but I have make it.

Removal of the ear pad

Parts in the market

I have experience of repairing a Clark aviation headset (the headphone with a microphone that pilots use). The fix was the ear pads, again, and the microphone. This experience was totally useless here, Frends headphone is not designed for repairing by the user. Yet, this is not a problem if you are using Beats, they have lots of parts available; even aftermarket ones.

Which parts fit me?

Compare the thickness of the sponge

--

--

Boring Engineer

Don’t want to waste it? just fix it! Life is a journey of solutions, let’s create a better value for living, NOW!